2007 ICC World Twenty20 winners – India

2007 saw the birth of the ICC World Twenty20 as twelve teams contested for the trophy in South Africa. T20 internationals had only begun to be played in 2005, so going into the tournament it was uncertain as to who the favourites were.

The tournament was a huge success as it featured the world’s best players playing in front of fans loving the new format of the game. A highlight of the tournament was when Yuvraj Singh famously hit Stuart Broad for six 6’s in one over in a 12-ball 50!

India went on to beat Pakistan in the final after an epic encounter as Pakistan failed to score the six runs they needed from the last over.

2009 ICC World Twenty20 winners – Pakistan

England was the host for the 2009 ICC World Twenty20 and they were embarrassed in the opening game as they lost to the Netherlands in a final ball thriller. Another shock was Australia who failed to progress through to the Super 8s despite usually being so consistent in international tournaments.

Previous world champions India had a very disappointing World Twenty20 as they lost all their matches in the Super 8 stage.

Pakistan made it through to their second consecutive final which they won against Sri Lanka with eight balls to spare. Shahid Afridi scored 54* from his 40 balls, while Tillakaratne Dilshan finished as player of the tournament with a total of 317 runs.

2010 ICC World Twenty20 winners – England

The third ICC World Twenty20 was hosted by the Windies and it was England who proved to be the surprise package by winning their first major-limited overs trophy.

For the second tournament in a row, India lost all their matches in the Super 8 stage.

Dirk Nannes, who took 14 wickets in the tournament, played a pivotal part in getting Australia through to the final, but it wasn’t enough as England comfortably chased down 148 in the final. Kevin Pietersen finished as player of the tournament.

2012 ICC World Twenty20 winners – Windies

The 2012 edition was played by the same twelve teams that played in the 2010 tournament with Ireland and Afghanistan joining the ten full members.

Chris Gayle again proved his class by striking 16 sixes, the most by any player, and Shane Watson was the leading run scorer with 249.

Ajantha Mendis also had a tournament to remember as he broke the record for most wickets in a World Twenty20 tournament with 15, including an incredible 6-8 against Zimbabwe.

The Windies went on to defeat Sri Lanka in the final by 36 runs and lift the trophy for the first time.

2014 ICC World Twenty20 winners – Sri Lanka

There was a change to the format in 2014 as it was the first to feature 16 teams including all ten full members and six associate members who had to qualify. Nepal, Hong Kong and United Arab Emirates made their debut in this tournament.

Bangladesh hosted their first World Cup and there were records broken, world class performances and massive shocks. Netherlands again stunned England by beating them by 45 runs as the reigning champions could only manage one win in the Super 10 group. Sri Lanka’s bowling unit which included Malinga, Mendis and Mathews impressed throughout the tournament.

Sri Lanka got the better of India in the final as Kumar Sangakkara guided Sri Lanka to a six-wicket victory to end a run of four defeats in global finals. Sangakkara, playing his final Twenty20 international, scored 52 not out as Sri Lanka chased down 131 inside 18 overs.

2016 ICC World Twenty20 winners – Windies

This tournament will be remembered for that incredible last over in the final…

The 2016 World Twenty20, hosted in India, was the sixth edition of the tournament. For the second time there were 16 teams competing.

England and Windies made it through to the final with both trying to make history by becoming the first team to win more than one World Twenty20 title. England looked to be heading for certain victory as the Windies needed an unlikely 19 from the last over. Step up Carlos Brathwaite! He famously hit Ben Stokes for four consecutive sixes to win the game and the World Twenty20 for the Windies.